Queensland Bridge Association - Laws Q & A

Law Questions and Answers
(* updated August 2017)

1. May dummy tell another player that he has a quitted trick pointed the wrong way?

Show Answer (+/-)

Only if he does so before a lead is made to the next trick. Law 65B3: Declarer may require that a card pointed incorrectly is pointed as above (ie as in 65B1 & 65B2). Dummy or either defender may draw attention to a card pointed incorrectly, but for these players the right expires when a lead is made to the following trick. If done later Law 16B may apply.
16B concerns extraneous information from partner.

2. The dummy has been displayed when it is realised that a player holds his cards from the previous board. What happens? *

Show Answer (+/-)

Play cannot continue. Law 15A2(a). If the offenders partner has subsequently called, the Director shall award an adjusted score.

3. What classification is an opening bid of 2D that shows either a balanced hand 21-22 hcp or 5+ in spades or hearts and 5-9 hcp?

Show Answer (+/-)

This 2D may be played as part of any system without affecting the system classification. Although the bid may be weak without a known suit there is dispensation from being a Brown Sticker Convention under 2.5(a)(ii) of the QBA Systems Regulations which says, "Exceptions: (ii) A two level opening bid in a minor may show a weak hand with 5+ cards in either major only, or as an option among any number of strong hand types."

4. Must a player advise the opponents that he has made a call that is not systemically correct? *

Show Answer (+/-)

No. Law 40A3: A player may make any call or play without prior announcement provided that such call or play is not based on an undisclosed partnership understanding (see Law 40C1).
Law 40C1: A player may deviate from his side's announced understandings always provided that his partner has no more reason than the opponents to be aware of the deviation [but see B2(a)(v) above]. Repeated deviations lead to implicit understandings which then form part of the partnership's methods and must be disclosed in accordance with the regulations governing disclosure of system. If the Director judges there is undisclosed knowledge that has damaged the opponents he shall adjust the score and may assess a procedural penalty.

5. A player has opened 2NT to show 8-11 hcp and 5+ in both minors. LHO bids 3D showing a good hand with spades. Does 3D require an alert?

Show Answer (+/-)

No. QBA Alerting Regulations 2.4 lists cue bids of an opponent's denomination/suit as self-alerting and 2.3 says, "For the purposes of these Regulations, a cue bid of opponent's suit is defined as a bid of any denomination bid by the opponent or of a suit shown by the opponent's bid."

6. Declarer tells dummy to "play anything" to a trick. May a defender now tell dummy which legal card to play?

Show Answer (+/-)

Yes. Law 46B5: If declarer indicates a play without designating either a suit or a rank (as by saying 'play anything' or words of like meaning) either defender may designate the play from dummy.

7. Does a minor penalty card have to be played at the first legal opportunity?

Show Answer (+/-)

No. Law 50C: When a defender has a minor penalty card, he may not play any other card of the same suit below the rank of an honour until he has first played the penalty card, but he is entitled to play an honour card instead. Offender's partner is not subject to lead restriction, but information gained through seeing the penalty card is unauthorized (see E following).



The QBA disclaims warranties of reasonableness and accuracy, and all warranties with regard to the information on this site, including all implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for particular purpose. In no event shall the QBA be liable for any direct, indirect, incidental, special or consequential damages arising out of the use of this site.